≡ 

Search by Category

Recent Posts

BLOGS Aug 2017
BLOGS Jun 2017
BLOGS Apr 2017
BLOGS Feb 2017
BLOGS Jan 2017
BLOGS Dec 2016
BLOGS Nov 2016
BLOGS Oct 2016
BLOGS Sep 2016
BLOGS Jul 2016
BLOGS May 2016
BLOGS Apr 2016
BLOGS Mar 2016
BLOGS Feb 2016
BLOGS Nov 2015
BLOGS Aug 2015
BLOGS Jul 2015
BLOGS Jun 2015
BLOGS May 2015
BLOGS Apr 2015
BLOGS Mar 2015
BLOGS Feb 2015
BLOGS Jan 2015
BLOGS Dec 2014
BLOGS Nov 2014
BLOGS Oct 2014
BLOGS Sep 2014
BLOGS Aug 2014
BLOGS Jul 2014
BLOGS Jun 2014
BLOGS May 2014
BLOGS Apr 2014
BLOGS Mar 2014
BLOGS Feb 2014
BLOGS Jan 2014
BLOGS Dec 2013
BLOGS Sep 2013
BLOGS Jul 2013
BLOGS Jun 2013
BLOGS May 2013
BLOGS Apr 2013
BLOGS Feb 2013
BLOGS Jan 2013
BLOGS Dec 2012
BLOGS Oct 2012
BLOGS Jul 2012
BLOGS Apr 2012
BLOGS Feb 2012
BLOGS Dec 2011
BLOGS Aug 2011
BLOGS May 2011
BLOGS Apr 2011
BLOGS Jan 2011
Share |
Sep 2016 by PCI College

Bite Sized Book Review : CBT for Beginners, 2nd Edition

Authors: Jane Simmons and Rachel Griffiths Reviewed by : Eoin Stephens

There are many introductory books on the subject of learning to work with CBT, many of them good (such as those by Judith Beck, Wills & Sanders, Wright et al...). So why consider another one? Well, this one happened to come my way recently, and I’m writing this review to draw attention to it as another alternative because I found it particularly clearly structured and well laid out, as if in answer to exactly the questions I find students asking.


The book is divided into three sections:

Part I: CBT – What Is It?
•    What is CBT?
•    Who Benefits from CBT?
•    The CBT Model

This section is very clearly laid out, especially for the target audience of beginners. This clarity of structure, order and writing is for me the main strength of the book overall, and it mirrors the way in which CBT practice itself is supposed to work.


PART II: CBT – How Do You Do It?
•    CBT Assessment
•    CBT Formulation
•    Setting Therapy Goals

The sections on Reformulation, Sample Formulation Letter, and Common Problems with Formulation are particularly useful. These are exactly the kind of areas students particularly need help with, in my experience.


PART III: And the Rest…
•    Mindfulness
•    Problem Solving
•    Working with Emotions

Again, some of these are very necessary areas, which aren’t always emphasised, and which I find myself adding in from various sources when I am teaching. Goal-setting and Motivation, especially, shouldn’t be taken for granted.


Obviously, there is a UK-based focus (for instance on referral to the NHS). However, the situation is probably sufficiently similar in Ireland for this not to be a major issue.

Eoin Stephens, MIACP, MACI

September 2016

 

For information on the Professional Certificate in CBT from PCI College click HERE.


This book is available on Amazon.

 

What our Students Say

"Enjoyed meeting everybody & hearing their stories, some were very inspiring. Loved getting the chance to spend the day writing. Well worth doing - highly recommend"
Carole Ryan - Life Writing Workshop

What our Students Say

"I learned a good deal about myself in this module and found it a very positive experience"
Certificate Student 2013, Dublin West
Web Design by Active Online © Copyright 2012 PCI College
PCI College, Corrig House, Old Naas Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)1 464 2268 info@pcicollege.ie
Privacy statement |Terms & Conditions |websites for education |