≡ 

Search by Category

Recent Posts

BLOGS Aug 2017
BLOGS Jun 2017
BLOGS Apr 2017
BLOGS Feb 2017
BLOGS Jan 2017
BLOGS Dec 2016
BLOGS Nov 2016
BLOGS Oct 2016
BLOGS Sep 2016
BLOGS Jul 2016
BLOGS May 2016
BLOGS Apr 2016
BLOGS Mar 2016
BLOGS Feb 2016
BLOGS Nov 2015
BLOGS Aug 2015
BLOGS Jul 2015
BLOGS Jun 2015
BLOGS May 2015
BLOGS Apr 2015
BLOGS Mar 2015
BLOGS Feb 2015
BLOGS Jan 2015
BLOGS Dec 2014
BLOGS Nov 2014
BLOGS Oct 2014
BLOGS Sep 2014
BLOGS Aug 2014
BLOGS Jul 2014
BLOGS Jun 2014
BLOGS May 2014
BLOGS Apr 2014
BLOGS Mar 2014
BLOGS Feb 2014
BLOGS Jan 2014
BLOGS Dec 2013
BLOGS Sep 2013
BLOGS Jul 2013
BLOGS Jun 2013
BLOGS May 2013
BLOGS Apr 2013
BLOGS Feb 2013
BLOGS Jan 2013
BLOGS Dec 2012
BLOGS Oct 2012
BLOGS Jul 2012
BLOGS Apr 2012
BLOGS Feb 2012
BLOGS Dec 2011
BLOGS Aug 2011
BLOGS May 2011
BLOGS Apr 2011
BLOGS Jan 2011
Share |
Apr 2016 by PCI College

Bite-Sized Book Review: Working at Relationship Depth in Counselling and Psychotherapy

Andrew McLellan PCI College Lecturer Reviews " Working at relationship Depth in Counselling and Psychotherapy" by Dave Mearns and Mick Cooper

“It’s the relationship that heals” is a frequently repeated maxim within the field of counselling and psychotherapy. But what does this really mean? What kind of relationship are we talking about? And what can help us as therapists - in training, in supervision, throughout our working lives - to become the kind of people who are able to offer such a relationship to our clients? These are the essential questions addressed by Dave Mearns and Mick Cooper in their book Working at Relational Depth in Counselling and Psychotherapy, reviewed this month by PCI College Lecturer Andrew McLellan.


Although written by leading practitioner-researchers from the person centred (Mearns) and existential (Cooper) schools, this little book will inspire trainees (and their trainers and supervisors) as well as experienced, open-minded practitioners of all theoretical orientations who have grasped the fundamentally relational nature of therapeutic healing. Indeed the authors highlight how the central focus on relational depth is a major point of convergence among advocates of the growing ‘relational’ branches of all the major schools (including Gestalt, psychodynamic, and so on), who strive to reach “the parts that other therapies do not reach” (p.51).


In the words of a documentary filmmaker quoted here: “we humans are… desperate to really meet each other and s*** scared of doing that” (p.152). Mearns and Cooper argue passionately that relational depth must be the central focus of therapy “because relationship is fundamental to the existence of the human being – we are governed and defined by relationship. Even the person who appears pathologically to reject relationship… [is so governed by it that he] feels the need to protect himself from it” (p.160).


Defining relational depth as “a state of profound contact and engagement between two people, in which each person is fully real with the Other, and able to understand and value the Other’s experiences at a high level” (p.xii), the authors bring this somewhat dry definition vividly and richly to life in the 164 pages of this often provocative work, into which they somehow cram cogent argument and key insight from decades of empirical research and therapeutic practice.


The first two chapters offer an impressively concise and useful summary of developments in both one-person (self-relating) and two-person (relating to others) psychology, assessing the insights of Carl Rogers, Martin Buber, Margaret Mahler, Donald Winnicott, Colwyn Trevarthen and Daniel Stern, among others. The authors also consider the relational aspects of common presenting issues, such as depression, anxiety, loneliness, and even psychosis, as well as the obvious ones like interpersonal conflict, although their fundamental approach is to “‘people’ and ‘processes’… [not] ‘problems’ and ‘treatments’” (p.160).


Theory is illustrated throughout in short clinical vignettes, as well as in two chapters dedicated to longer case studies of work by one of the ‘gurus’ of person centred practice, Dave Mearns. These accounts of therapy with “a ‘partial’ drunk” (p.71) and a severely traumatised soldier are, by turns, honest, humble, challenging, shocking and profoundly moving.


Throughout the book, the authors interrogate Rogers’ (1957) concept of ‘congruence’, which is often poorly understood or avoided - by trainees and experienced practitioners alike - in favour of the ‘softer’ conditions of empathy and acceptance. They question what it really means for a therapist to take the risk of being fully ‘real’ with clients - indeed this book could almost be subtitled ‘adventures in congruence’.


Their inspiring conclusion is that such therapists: “… in reaching out [to clients…] are not deterred by fear – of the other; of how they are seen; of ‘getting it wrong’; of losing themselves. They are utterly committed to congruence – to be transparent as well as self-aware – to show the Other what is going on in the therapist; why they are trying; and the feelings they are experiencing in the act of trying” (p.136).

Andrew McLellan MIACP,
BSc (Hons.) Counselling & Psychotherapy,
P.G. Cert Gestalt Psychotherapy.


Andrew McLellan MIACP is a part-time lecturer with PCI College and a humanistic psychotherapist with a busy private practice in the Harold’s Cross and Rathgar area of Dublin.

References:
Rogers, C.R. (1957). The necessary and sufficient conditions of therapeutic personality change. Journal of Consulting Psychology, 21(2): 95-103.

What our Students Say

“My experience with PCI was the best decision in my life, I would rate PCI 10. I'm not saying it was easy, especially starting a new career at the age of 50, but I got through with a lot of hard work and dedication. Liam McCarthy and Josephine Murphy were an inspiration and all the other Tutors I had during the four years. Since I got my Degree I have been so busy counselling, only last week I was offered another new job, its amazing. Next year I will be 70 and hopefully the work will continue.”
Rita Lett BSc (Hons) in Counselling & Psychotherapy Graduate

What our Students Say


"...Gosh I loved everything [about this workshop] and The teacher and group were wonderful. I would do other workshops on this topic."
Deirdre Reddy - Life Writing Workshop
Web Design by Active Online © Copyright 2012 PCI College
PCI College, Corrig House, Old Naas Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)1 464 2268 info@pcicollege.ie
Privacy statement |Terms & Conditions |websites for education |