≡ 

Search by Category

Recent Posts

BLOGS Aug 2017
BLOGS Jun 2017
BLOGS Apr 2017
BLOGS Feb 2017
BLOGS Jan 2017
BLOGS Dec 2016
BLOGS Nov 2016
BLOGS Oct 2016
BLOGS Sep 2016
BLOGS Jul 2016
BLOGS May 2016
BLOGS Apr 2016
BLOGS Mar 2016
BLOGS Feb 2016
BLOGS Nov 2015
BLOGS Aug 2015
BLOGS Jul 2015
BLOGS Jun 2015
BLOGS May 2015
BLOGS Apr 2015
BLOGS Mar 2015
BLOGS Feb 2015
BLOGS Jan 2015
BLOGS Dec 2014
BLOGS Nov 2014
BLOGS Oct 2014
BLOGS Sep 2014
BLOGS Aug 2014
BLOGS Jul 2014
BLOGS Jun 2014
BLOGS May 2014
BLOGS Apr 2014
BLOGS Mar 2014
BLOGS Feb 2014
BLOGS Jan 2014
BLOGS Dec 2013
BLOGS Sep 2013
BLOGS Jul 2013
BLOGS Jun 2013
BLOGS May 2013
BLOGS Apr 2013
BLOGS Feb 2013
BLOGS Jan 2013
BLOGS Dec 2012
BLOGS Oct 2012
BLOGS Jul 2012
BLOGS Apr 2012
BLOGS Feb 2012
BLOGS Dec 2011
BLOGS Aug 2011
BLOGS May 2011
BLOGS Apr 2011
BLOGS Jan 2011
Share |
Aug 2014 by PCI College

Bite-Sized Book Review: 'Dream Work in Therapy-Facilitating Exploration, Insight and Action' by Dr Clara Hill

Mike Hackett, counsellor & PCI College graduate reviews 'Dream Work in Therapy-Facilitating Exploration, Insight and Action' by Dr Clara Hill for this week's Bite-Sized Book Review

Dream Work in Therapy: Facilitating Exploration, Insight and Action by Dr. Clara Hill

Everyone dreams, every night, several times a night. So few people however admit to remembering these strange nighttime visitors. What is it about these sometimes scary, bizarre, awesome nightly mind-movies that simultaneously fascinate and confuse? How often do we catch snippets of conversations on the DART, the Luas, the bus, on the street, which begin with the words “I had a crazy dream last night …”. Our dreams are everywhere.

For professionals, we often struggle when clients bring dreams into the therapy room unless we have had experience of working with dreams in our training or in our own personal therapy.  We can often feel unprepared, often not sure where to start.

That’s why its so great to have a practical model available, also grounded in research when it comes to applying Dreamwork in the counselling setting. This is where Dr Clara Hill’s book, is such an excellent resource for practicing therapists.

The Dreamwork Model developed by Dr Hill is Cognitive-Experiential and focuses on “Exploration, Insight & Action”, providing a step-wise method for helping a client facilitate their dreams, exploring the images, situations and events of the dream, gaining insight from the various interactions, and ultimately, taking action in one’s daily life to use the dream as a signpost in growth and personal development.

Unlike other dream books, there is no background or biographical information on the history of the dreamwork movement (Freud, Jung etc.) and you will need to have some knowledge of Cognitive and Experiential Therapies to get the most from the book. However, it’s a good one to have in your therapeutic toolbox.

An insightful, effective and practical read for those interested in working with dreams.

Mike Hackett (August 2014)
Introspect Counselling & PCI College Graduate
http://www.introspectcounselling.com/

What our Students Say

"It was more than I expected; the teaching was brilliant, very organised, bringing lots of interesting reading and activities".
2012-2013 Student - Postgraduate Certificate in Child and Adolescent Counselling & Psychotherapy

What our Students Say

"Overall it was an enjoyable day and well presented, I took what I could from the workshop and I am trying to apply it to my everyday living.”
Positive Psychology Attendee
Web Design by Active Online © Copyright 2012 PCI College
PCI College, Corrig House, Old Naas Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)1 464 2268 info@pcicollege.ie
Privacy statement |Terms & Conditions |websites for education |