≡ 

Search by Category

Recent Posts

BLOGS Aug 2017
BLOGS Jun 2017
BLOGS Apr 2017
BLOGS Feb 2017
BLOGS Jan 2017
BLOGS Dec 2016
BLOGS Nov 2016
BLOGS Oct 2016
BLOGS Sep 2016
BLOGS Jul 2016
BLOGS May 2016
BLOGS Apr 2016
BLOGS Mar 2016
BLOGS Feb 2016
BLOGS Nov 2015
BLOGS Aug 2015
BLOGS Jul 2015
BLOGS Jun 2015
BLOGS May 2015
BLOGS Apr 2015
BLOGS Mar 2015
BLOGS Feb 2015
BLOGS Jan 2015
BLOGS Dec 2014
BLOGS Nov 2014
BLOGS Oct 2014
BLOGS Sep 2014
BLOGS Aug 2014
BLOGS Jul 2014
BLOGS Jun 2014
BLOGS May 2014
BLOGS Apr 2014
BLOGS Mar 2014
BLOGS Feb 2014
BLOGS Jan 2014
BLOGS Dec 2013
BLOGS Sep 2013
BLOGS Jul 2013
BLOGS Jun 2013
BLOGS May 2013
BLOGS Apr 2013
BLOGS Feb 2013
BLOGS Jan 2013
BLOGS Dec 2012
BLOGS Oct 2012
BLOGS Jul 2012
BLOGS Apr 2012
BLOGS Feb 2012
BLOGS Dec 2011
BLOGS Aug 2011
BLOGS May 2011
BLOGS Apr 2011
BLOGS Jan 2011
Share |
Jul 2014 by PCI College

Bite-Sized Book Review: 'Plato, Not Prozac! Applying Eternal Wisdom to Everyday Problems' by Lou Marinoff PhD.

Eoin Stephens, PCI College President reviews 'Plato, Not Prozac!' by Lou Marinoff is this week's Bite-Sized Book Review.

'Plato, Not Prozac: Applying Eternal Wisdom to Everyday Problems' by Lou Marinoff, Ph.D

I came across this interesting book recently, written by an American philosophy professor who has founded the American Philosophical Practitioners Association.

The book "draws on the greatest philosophers and philosophies throughout history and around the world to show you how to address the important issues in your life." They don't see it as replacing psychotherapy, and refer clients on for more specialised help when the issues are complex (and they do see a role for Prozac sometimes, despite the catchy title!)

I certainly think that what philosophers have to say can often be relevant for counselling/psychotherapy (especially within the Pluralist type of framework Mick Cooper spoke about at the IACP AGM earlier this year) and we are planning to run some lectures on Philosophy for Psychotherapists later in the year. Watch this space...

Eoin Stephens (First published on Facebook April 2014)
PCI College President

What our Students Say

"Enjoyed more creative ways of with working with children; as a result my level of confidence has increased".
2012-2013 Student - Postgraduate Certificate in Child and Adolescent Counselling & Psychotherapy

What our Students Say

Delivered in a very clear and interesting manner. Really enjoyed the lecture. Very informative - enough information and not overloaded.
Siobhan McKeon, Biological Psychology Public Lecture
Web Design by Active Online © Copyright 2012 PCI College
PCI College, Corrig House, Old Naas Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)1 464 2268 info@pcicollege.ie
Privacy statement |Terms & Conditions |websites for education |