≡ 

Search by Category

Recent Posts

BLOGS Aug 2017
BLOGS Jun 2017
BLOGS Apr 2017
BLOGS Feb 2017
BLOGS Jan 2017
BLOGS Dec 2016
BLOGS Nov 2016
BLOGS Oct 2016
BLOGS Sep 2016
BLOGS Jul 2016
BLOGS May 2016
BLOGS Apr 2016
BLOGS Mar 2016
BLOGS Feb 2016
BLOGS Nov 2015
BLOGS Aug 2015
BLOGS Jul 2015
BLOGS Jun 2015
BLOGS May 2015
BLOGS Apr 2015
BLOGS Mar 2015
BLOGS Feb 2015
BLOGS Jan 2015
BLOGS Dec 2014
BLOGS Nov 2014
BLOGS Oct 2014
BLOGS Sep 2014
BLOGS Aug 2014
BLOGS Jul 2014
BLOGS Jun 2014
BLOGS May 2014
BLOGS Apr 2014
BLOGS Mar 2014
BLOGS Feb 2014
BLOGS Jan 2014
BLOGS Dec 2013
BLOGS Sep 2013
BLOGS Jul 2013
BLOGS Jun 2013
BLOGS May 2013
BLOGS Apr 2013
BLOGS Feb 2013
BLOGS Jan 2013
BLOGS Dec 2012
BLOGS Oct 2012
BLOGS Jul 2012
BLOGS Apr 2012
BLOGS Feb 2012
BLOGS Dec 2011
BLOGS Aug 2011
BLOGS May 2011
BLOGS Apr 2011
BLOGS Jan 2011
Share |
Apr 2014 by PCI College

Bite-Sized Book Review - 'Pluralistic Counselling & Psychotherapy'

We are beginning a series of short, digestible reviews about counselling, psychotherapy, psychology and other books of interest. This week its: 'Pluralistic Counselling and Psychotherapy' by Mick Cooper and John McLeod reviewed by Eoin Stephens, PCI College President

In my Bite-Sized Book Review last week I mentioned Mick Cooper’s talk at this year’s IACP AGM on “Pluralistic Counselling & Psychotherapy”, so I thought it would be good to draw attention this week to his book of the same title (with John McLeod).

Cooper and McLeod promote a ‘pluralistic perspective’ on counselling & psychotherapy, which they define as “…the assumption that different clients are likely to benefit from different therapeutic methods at different points in time, and that therapists should work collaboratively with clients to help them identify what they want from therapy and how they might achieve it.” They distinguish this from pluralistic practice, where a practitioner draws from a range of approaches to make up their individual style. A practitioner working within a single orientation could still take a pluralistic perspective, though only if they were willing to refer on any clients who seemed more likely to benefit from a different approach than their own.

These ideas, expanded further in the book, definitely deserve our attention at this stage of the development of our profession, and the book itself (like many published by Sage) is both readable and profound.

Eoin Stephens, PCI College President (April 2014)

What our Students Say

Very well presented but not an overwhelming amount of information. Jean Notaro is an excellent lecturer, great facilitation of the group.
Daniel O'Mahony-Emotional Intelligence for success

What our Students Say

“....Very practical.....The course is extremely helpful, I am looking forward to doing more days so that I can really process what I have learned!”
Barbara Reid - Professional Certificate in CBT
Web Design by Active Online © Copyright 2012 PCI College
PCI College, Corrig House, Old Naas Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)1 464 2268 info@pcicollege.ie
Privacy statement |Terms & Conditions |websites for education |