≡ 

Search by Category

Recent Posts

BLOGS Aug 2017
BLOGS Jun 2017
BLOGS Apr 2017
BLOGS Feb 2017
BLOGS Jan 2017
BLOGS Dec 2016
BLOGS Nov 2016
BLOGS Oct 2016
BLOGS Sep 2016
BLOGS Jul 2016
BLOGS May 2016
BLOGS Apr 2016
BLOGS Mar 2016
BLOGS Feb 2016
BLOGS Nov 2015
BLOGS Aug 2015
BLOGS Jul 2015
BLOGS Jun 2015
BLOGS May 2015
BLOGS Apr 2015
BLOGS Mar 2015
BLOGS Feb 2015
BLOGS Jan 2015
BLOGS Dec 2014
BLOGS Nov 2014
BLOGS Oct 2014
BLOGS Sep 2014
BLOGS Aug 2014
BLOGS Jul 2014
BLOGS Jun 2014
BLOGS May 2014
BLOGS Apr 2014
BLOGS Mar 2014
BLOGS Feb 2014
BLOGS Jan 2014
BLOGS Dec 2013
BLOGS Sep 2013
BLOGS Jul 2013
BLOGS Jun 2013
BLOGS May 2013
BLOGS Apr 2013
BLOGS Feb 2013
BLOGS Jan 2013
BLOGS Dec 2012
BLOGS Oct 2012
BLOGS Jul 2012
BLOGS Apr 2012
BLOGS Feb 2012
BLOGS Dec 2011
BLOGS Aug 2011
BLOGS May 2011
BLOGS Apr 2011
BLOGS Jan 2011
Share |
May 2014 by PCI College

Bite-Sized Book Review - 'The Compassionate Mind' by Paul Gilbert

'The Compassionate Mind (Compassion Focused Therapy)' by Paul Gilbert is reviewed this week by Eoin Stephens, PCI College President ahead of our CPD workshop on this subject in June.

'The Compassionate Mind'
Paul Gilbert, Professor of Clinical Psychology at the University of Derby, is an interesting writer and thinker on psychological matters, and has made particular contributions in the area of depression. This book, however, may well be his enduring gift to the field of therapy and mental health.

His approach is in a tradition (which I support) of integrating the best ideas from a range of areas – CBT, Buddhism, Neuroscience, Evolutionary Psychology, etc.

The core idea is simple but profound: Relating to ourselves kindly nourishes our well-being, by promoting “…feelings of reassurance, security, safeness and calm…” Habitual self-criticism does the opposite.

Compassion is a concept that gives rise to many different ideas in people’s minds, but is defined here as “…a basic kindness, with a deep awareness of the suffering of oneself and of other living things, coupled with the wish and effort to relieve it.” Because deep shame is implicated in so many mental health problems, developing self-compassion can be essential, and fortunately it is a skill which can be practised.

To find out more, read the book, go to the Compassionate Mind Foundation website at http://www.compassionatemind.co.uk/ or check out our three-day Certificate in Compassion Focused Therapy CPD workshop with Dr. Chris Irons, who studied with Paul Gilbert. Workshop details are available here on the website and places can be booked now.

Eoin Stephens, PCI College President (May 2014)

What our Students Say

"Enjoyed more creative ways of with working with children; as a result my level of confidence has increased".
2012-2013 Student - Postgraduate Certificate in Child and Adolescent Counselling & Psychotherapy

What our Students Say

"Blend of theory and experiential is very good, Role plays facilitated much learning, very supportive learning space; I was pleased to see exploration of broad scope of Lifespan Developmental theory with emphasis too on modern neuroscientific research. Facilitation of the group emotional process around these theoretical concepts was also very thorough"
2014 - 2015 Student, Postgrad Certificate in Child and Adolescent Counselling & Psychotherapy
Web Design by Active Online © Copyright 2012 PCI College
PCI College, Corrig House, Old Naas Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, Ireland
Tel: +353 (0)1 464 2268 info@pcicollege.ie
Privacy statement |Terms & Conditions |websites for education |